Jessica Day 17: Found my drink of choice

18 Jan
  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, 2 slices turkey bacon, 1/4 avocado, papaya w/ lemon, almond milk (warmed with cinnamon)
  • AM Snack: date and frozen grapes
  • Lunch: Chicken Soup w/ veggies
  • PM snack: 2 tsp almond butter
  • Dinner: 1/2 Pork Lau Lau, wasn’t that hungry because my belly was full of water after the WOD.
  • Post Dinner Snack: My drink of choice: Creamy Tumeric Tea. Looks like it would taste weird but it tastes like Chai. And I realized I prefer unsweetened almond milk to coconut milk. Here’s the recipe. I didn’t have cayenne pepper and I omitted the honey.
—-
  • 8 ounces (1 cup) almond or coconut milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2-inch wide round slice of ginger root, peeled and finely chopped
  • Dash of cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon honey or other sweetener
  • Optional additions: a small pat of butter, cinnamon, cardamom

Instructions:

Gently warm the almond or coconut milk on the stove.

In a mug, combine the remaining ingredients.

Drizzle a teaspoon of the warmed milk into the mug and mix until the liquid is smooth with no lumps. Add the rest of the milk and mix well. You can leave the pieces of ginger in the tea, or strain it out before drinking.

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/creamy-turmeric-tea/#axzz1jq4ZwZSk

—–

Workout:  Jilly’s right, that was a hard WOD. I debated on going today because of my cold, but I’m glad I went.

2 Responses to “Jessica Day 17: Found my drink of choice”

  1. crossfitxslm January 18, 2012 at 8:32 #

    AWESOME job today Jess, you did it despite your cold!
    half the battle is getting dressed and going but once you go you never regret it!

    • fitgirlslift January 18, 2012 at 8:32 #

      Thanks Harlene! Good job to you too! I felt really good afterwards. Why are you trying to keep us in suspense. Dish it, girl!

Leave a Reply

