Jessica Day 36: Breakdown of food

6 Feb
So last year when I was in CA, my girlfriend who’s a trainer at Crunch Fitness, set me up with an account at dotfit.com. It’s an online tool that helps you calculate your input/output, calories burned and such. It’s suppose to work in conjunction with those calorie monitor bands. Didn’t have the band and I never did anything with the tool because it was too cumbersome to input everything. But now that I’m obsessing over all that I eat, I’m finding it helpful to see the breakdown of my food. Per Mark and Jilly’s conversation, he recommends: 40% Protein, 40% Carbs and 20% good Fat. Need to work on it a bit more if I want RESULTS. Not too bad, but now I know…..Some food items were estimates so it’s not entirely accurate.
Here’s the breakdown of food –>Food Log_Dot Fit
By the way, if interested,  www.fitday.com is similar. Can track food and activity. It’s free. And there’s a calendar if you want to record your PR’s or WODs.
  • Breakfast: 1 hard boiled egg, deviled egg with guacamole instead of that nasty paleo mayo stuff. 1 whole cup of coffee (needed the extra caffeine because I felt a migraine coming on).
  • AM Snack: Bowl of fruit–strawberries, blueberries, kiwi, mac nuts, drizzle of honey
  • Lunch: 1 hardboiled egg, deviled egg w/ guacamole, 2.5 oz salmon filet on bed of romaine lettuce (wasn’t that hungry), 2 pieces dried apple banana
  • PM Snack: 1/2 apple w/ 2T almond butter
  • Dinner: Pork Lau Lau over bed of romaine lettuce
  • Post dinner snack: Nano pro shake w/ almond milk, date ball, cashews

Just 5 grams shy of protein requirement today.

WOD: Good workout. I’m getting better at “trying” heavier weights. Thanks ladies for helping me get over this fear=) Arms and thighs were shaking during the WOD. Felt lightheaded because of my wonderful period and migraine. Adam’s waiting for me to help move some couches right now. Um, no thanks.

6 Responses to “Jessica Day 36: Breakdown of food”

  1. fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

    Went to foodlog dotfit. I like the idea of having a guide of what to eat since it is hard for me to get creative with Paleo. Thanks for sharing!
    Did you buy some of the Nano Pro/Greens?
    Diane O.

    • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

      You’re welcome. No, didn’t buy Nano Pro. Just using the last of your samples=) Wanted to see for the 3rd time if it would give me an upset tummy. First two times, yes. Third time, no. Hmmm. Will try a fourth time.~jess

  2. jennp February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

    I have myfitnesspal on my phone to track my protein, carbs, fat etc. It helps or I’d have no clue.

    • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

      Oh thanks! I’ve been looking for an app. I just can’t input into the computer all the time.

      • marquescio February 8, 2012 at 8:32 #

        Jess, actually protein about 30% of your total caloric load. Carbs is 40% and fat is 30%. So just have to keep it balanced.

  3. fitgirlslift February 8, 2012 at 8:32 #

    Oh ok, thanks Mark!!

Leave a Reply

