Jilly: frustrated!!!

6 Feb

This morning was a tough morning. I woke up feeling like this is not working for me and was very confused and frustrated! I feel like my results will be me just skinny and not ripped-not the look I’m going for. I feel like no one really understands (except Diane:) because everyone wants to be skinny right? But what if you were always skinny and your goal is to be ripped? Ok so easy just eat a lot and eat a lot of protein. Not that easy! I get full off of little things. Today my snack was 4 hours after my breakfast (protein smoothie) 1/2 apple with 2 tbsp almond butter and I was totally full! By the time lunch came around I had to force myself to eat-I feel like I’m always forcing myself to eat! Yesterday my husband made me a veggie omelette for breakfast and I wasn’t hungry until 2! I just don’t know how I’m suppose to eat all that I need to in order to be successful. I talked to Mark after class because he had similar problems with Paleo as I am. I asked him if i would be ripped if I don’t eat enough and he said no. He recommended for me to add more complex carbs and add fish oil supplements. I’m just having a problem enjoying my food. Any suggestions? Everyone says to force myself to eat every couple hours but I will puke if I do! Here’s what I ate today:
Breakfast :protein smoothie, tea
Snack: 1/2 apple 2 tbsp almond butter
Lunch: small green salad topped with some almonds and beef broccoli
Snack: other 1/2 of apple
Dinner: meatloaf, 1/4 cup of corn (just had to eat the corn) 1 deviled egg
I know when I write down my food it looks like enough but my proportions are small. Yesterday me and my sister ate by eachother at the party and she said I hardly ate and it seemed like it was a lot to me. Sorry I just needed to vent! Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks!!!!

13 Responses to “Jilly: frustrated!!!”

  1. fitgirlslift February 6, 2012 at 8:32 #

    Jilly Fitch. Sorry for your frustrations! Seems like gaining muscle and avoiding losing weight might even be harder than losing weight! I just did a search on your situation and it seems like all everyone is saying is eat more, lift heavier. I think you might also need to reconsider Paleo? Or at least add things that will keep you from losing weight. I don’t know, I just want to help=) I’ll ask my skinny fit friend. ~Jess

    • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

      Thanks Jess so much. I have asked my skinny fit patients and none of them do Paleo. I had one patient on a modified Paleo probably 70%. But she was super skinny.

  2. crossfitxslm February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

    Hm….
    Maybe you should try to pack a lunh box full of snacks & carry it everywhere you go so it will remind you to eat more often.

    • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

      Sounds like a good idea! I have done that many times out running errands and super hungry but you know when you pass that hungry phase and get to the nauseous phase-that’s me. Thanks Harlene!

  3. fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

    Jilly,
    I totally understand. I am in the same dilemma, and have been since I came down with RA.
    I try to eat a lot during the day but like you get full with all the protein and veggies. That limits my snacking which, you and I need to maintain or gain weight and muscle. Such a vicious cycle….eating healthy and losing weight! Think we are burning off way more calories that we are ingesting. We need to be gluttons!!!
    Let’s try to find something to add to our diet which is ladened with good calories,
    I am considering looking into the Zone diet if I do not see favorable results in the next 30 days. Let’s brainstorm.
    Diane O

    • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

      Yes Diane please brainstorm with me. Right now I’m not gonna obsess about how much veggies I consume and just try to eat protein. When eating my meals, gonna eat my protein first before touching anything else. If I’m full by the time I get to my veggies then thats just too bad. At least I will have eaten my protein before the carbs. I will try this and see if I get results:) I certainly hope so because this forcing food down is hard!!

      • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

        I am doing the same thing eating protein first and then the veggies, etc. It is like my taste buds are numb and I have lost the craving for food. Nothing seems to excite me accept for an apple with almond butter, dates and raw almonds. I am eating just to consume calories.
        I’m sure this too shall pass. We will be ok….you are not alone šŸ™‚
        Diane O.

      • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

        Diane I have the same obsession with apples and almond butter right now how funny!

  4. jennp February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

    K Jilly. I did a little research. To maintain your weight you need about 1500 calories per day. Probably a little more if you workout super hard or are a busy body all day. Break it down like a hard WOD. 400 calories for breakfast, 400 for lunch, 400 dinner, 300 worth of snacks. Pick your favorite Meal and make that meal more calories and your least favorite less. Example I love breakfast. Eat 500 for breakfast 300 for lunch, etc. You need about 70-80 grams of protein a day. Break that down to be incorporated in your meals too. 20 grams for breakfast, 20 for lunch, 30 for dinner. Change the food you eat often. Remember one reason my little breakdown occured was because I ate tuna 2 days in a row? You can do this.

    • fitgirlslift February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

      Thanks Jenny! That seems like a lot of adding to me and you know me and adding! I will definitely try!!!

  5. jennp February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

    Maybe you don’t need snacks. Just a thought. Then when it’s time for meals you’ll be hungry and you’ll eat 500 calories a meal.

    • marquescio February 7, 2012 at 8:32 #

      Jilly, Zone diet is a suggestion. It’s more ideal for my body type and could be yours too. The only problem I have is it is quite tidious because you have to measure your food. But it is worth considering. I know of some CF athletes are more Zone because they perform better.

      • fitgirlslift February 8, 2012 at 8:32 #

        I haven’t even looked into the zone diet yet. Maybe once this challenge is over I can change it up a little. Thanks for your advice:)

Leave a Reply

